04 Ram Won't start - no gear indicator, guages stuck - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-05-2012, 09:30 PM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
04 Ram Won't start - no gear indicator, guages stuck

Hi,

Yesterday I went to start my 04 Ram 5.7L 4x4. I turned the key and nothing happened. On closer inspection I noticed that while all guages have power, none of them give a reading, IE: my fuel guage says empty even though it is full. Also, no gear appears to be selected on the indicator on the dash (no "box" around park, reverse, etc...). The outside temp guage is stuck on 54 degrees celcius. There are no clicks, etc... OBD2 reader says ERR1 and nothing else. Disconecting the battery did nothing, nor did boosting it. All fuses are fine, i tried swapping relays from my old fuse box, nothing happened. The red security light stays on but so do most of the other dash lights. Any ideas? It's going to be towed to the dealer on tuesday but if there are any fixes I'd sure like to try them.

One time yesterday, while fiddling with the fuses, I heard the fuel pump kick in and a click like a solenoid, and the truck finally started. Left it over night and when I got back in today it wouldn't start again. I'm desperate, if you have ideas I'd sure appreciate hearing them. Thanks, Dan.
dbracela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-06-2012, 12:44 AM
crasher76
Im wired!!!
 
crasher76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: K-TOWN
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Check battery voltage, then switch the asd relay with the fog or wiper relay. After that its all volt meter on pcm, pdc, cluster....maybe as simple as a bad battery or f****** fuse box. GOOD LUCK! post back results..

Black 2003 QC SB SLT 4x4 Offroad 5.7L HEMI, Original Owner 3.92 LSD, 260 cam, 6.1 Rods/Springs, Home Ported/Polished Heads, Psc1, 04 Map sensor and Fuel pump assembly, Oil pressure guage, Amsoil, Champs, MSD 8.5MM Full length Wires, Transgo HD w/out resistor, Superchip, 180 T-Stat, K/N 77 Series, Ceramic Flowtech headers with Y-Pipe, Stage 8 locks, Ditched the cat, O2 sensor mod, Jack Rabbit bed cover, Sprayed bed liner, Big Mouth Grill-Black, Blackend Headlights/Tails, Silverstar ultras, Ditched all chrome, Custom 10's sub enclosure, Upgraded 160 amp alt, Window tint, Relocated purge valve, Energy suspension bushings, Rear spring clamps, Rebuilt front suspension, Ditched Sway Bar, Passport 8500 Radar Detector, Ditched the baby seat- kid wasnt mine, Cigarette burn in the seat mod, Debadged, Custom Rewired/Properly Grounded.
crasher76 is offline  
#3 Old 05-06-2012, 03:50 AM
05Ramhendrix
Ramistered User
 
05Ramhendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Estero
Posts: 6,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Dead cell in battery, get new one.

Scott

2005 QC HEMI * 2wd * PSB Bright Silver * AEM Brute Force Intake * Powerwire * Jetstream Scoop * Stant 14168 180* T-stat * Superchip Flashpaq 3865 w/ Trans Tuning * BBK Ceramic Shorty Headers * Magnaflow Y Pipe * Magnaflow Catback * Motive 4.56 Gears LSD * Rough Country 6" Lift *Moto Metal 951 20x10 *Nitto Terra Grapplers 305/55/20 * Alpine Audio

05Ramhendrix is offline  
#4 Old 05-06-2012, 11:51 AM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
As in vehicle battery or key fob? If it was the battery shouldnt I be able to boost it?
dbracela is offline  
#5 Old 05-06-2012, 12:46 PM
05Ramhendrix
Ramistered User
 
05Ramhendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Estero
Posts: 6,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Vehicle battery, your symptoms sound a lot like mine when I had a dead cell. Battery would power the lights and accessories but not PCM or start truck. These trucks are a big paperweight without a good battery to power the computer, funky things and gremlins start to happen without the correct voltage. If it has a dead cell there is no boosting or jumping.

Scott

2005 QC HEMI * 2wd * PSB Bright Silver * AEM Brute Force Intake * Powerwire * Jetstream Scoop * Stant 14168 180* T-stat * Superchip Flashpaq 3865 w/ Trans Tuning * BBK Ceramic Shorty Headers * Magnaflow Y Pipe * Magnaflow Catback * Motive 4.56 Gears LSD * Rough Country 6" Lift *Moto Metal 951 20x10 *Nitto Terra Grapplers 305/55/20 * Alpine Audio

05Ramhendrix is offline  
#6 Old 05-06-2012, 01:37 PM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Tried a different battery today. From my other car. No dice. Tried new relays, nada. New fuse box and fcm last year. Could I be locked out by the sentry system? Bad PCM?
dbracela is offline  
#7 Old 05-06-2012, 03:51 PM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
It goes to the dealer on Tuesday. I'll post what they find, along with the cost, ugh.
dbracela is offline  
#8 Old 05-07-2012, 03:24 PM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
The dealer saw the truck today. Corroded wires is the apparent cause. They have to replace a 16 pin and 26 pin connector before they can be sure. Apparently they communicate with integrated control something or other. The part will be in in 5 days. I'll post a more specific response once I have the work order in my hands. Estimate is 650 bucks... So far...
dbracela is offline  
#9 Old 05-08-2012, 07:05 PM
chefred112
Valdez Racing Team
 
chefred112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 13,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
wow that much? sounds like the Fcm (fusebox)... mine acted weird sometimes untill I swapped it out... it would crap out on me driving on the highway.. sometimes the truck would run but the guages wouldn't...



05 Ram 1500 QC 5.7 (stroked 6.4 as of 7/14)
Inertia Motorsports Stroker Assy
best 1/4 (5.7 nitrous): 12.10 @ 113
best 1/4 (5.7 na): 12.96 @ 104 (cold day)
best 1/4 (6.4 na): 12.59 @ 106 (hot day)
over 250k miles on odo
chefred112 is offline  
#10 Old 05-21-2012, 11:47 AM
dbracela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
So I got my truck back. The totally integrated control module (fuse box for dumb guys like me) couldn't communicate with the truck due to some corroded wires. They replaced two of the connectors and a couple single wires, and voila, brand new truck. Cost 650 bucks for labour and parts and diagnostics. Parts in Canada are a little pricier and the dealer charges 95 bucks an hour.

It's my fault they corroded though.When I changed the fuse box last year I noticed that the previous owner had punctured each wire with a probe to trace why a headlight wouldn't work. I should have repaired the damage then and there before it spread but I guess I got lazy or dumb and left it. Had the same problem with corroded wires in the back end too, as they were all also punctured. I fixed them myself and replaced what had already rotted out.

So, thanks all for the advice, if you find similar symptoms to mine check the wires under the box as well as the connectors. Dan.
dbracela is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 ram no start/gear indicator contractors Hem 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 4 01-10-2012 09:44 PM
column shift indicator needle stuck 88_Dodge_B250 Dodge B-Series Vans 1971 - 2003 6 01-02-2012 03:58 PM
Stuck Starter after in-gear start jeedee Dodge Dakota 1st Gen (87 -96) Forum 6 12-23-2010 04:17 PM
Truck stuck in 1st gear - Can't start rye 3G Dodge RAM - Drivetrain Talk 28 07-28-2010 04:53 PM
auto gear indicator 91RamGa Dodge Ram Truck 1st Gen (88 - 93) Forum 2 01-14-2010 05:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome