1999 Caravan Limp Mode Help - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP DODGETALK MERCHANDISE ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Vehicle Forums > Dodge Caravan/Grand Caravan Talk > Dodge Caravan General Talk

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

Lorinser925
 
  1999 Caravan Limp Mode Help - Posted: 03-19-2010, 11:27 PM
Lorinser925's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
State: OTHER
Status: Offline
Post #1

Hi folks,

New to this forum and been a long time Dodge owner.

Recently my 1999 Caravan LE went into limp mode while I was driving 45 mph. I believe that it's stuck in 2nd gear. I went to my local autozone the next day to get the codes as the Service Engine Soon light was on. These are the codes that I got: P0700 and P0755. My van has 88k miles and I had Aamco change out the transmission fluid at 80k miles.

The recession has hit me and my family very hard and I'm on a very tight budget to fix my daily driver. I still drive it locally and don't go past 40mph as the rpm is at 3k at 40mph.

What would I have to change out to fix this problem? I was thinking of buying a used Transmission Control Module. Another question is what year Caravans part will fit into my 1999? If I do pull a TCM from another Caravan - I want it to fit my 1999.

All help is appreciated. Thank You
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

minivanguy
 
 Posted: 03-20-2010, 03:27 AM
Silver Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 242
State: OTHER
Status: Offline
Post #2

for the limp-in problem, there are many companies making a pill to help that out ....lol

without actually using a real scanner, you will end up throwing parts at it hoping for a repair. this, in most cases, will cost more money and WAY more frustration. You need to use networking skills to come up with a quality diagnostician to properly repair your vehicle. If you were near me, I'd diagnose it for free.
if you just want a guess, throw a solenoid pack at it.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

derekio
 
 Posted: 03-20-2010, 05:09 PM
Registered User
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Status: Offline
Post #3

or...if you want a decent guess from someone willing to take the time to help you out. And not have to be talked down to by soem people.
Look at the wiring "Y" right before the solenoid pack. I had your exact same problem, and there was a broken wire there.
I, unlike the aforementioned some people, actually read the part of your post where you said funds were low.
so I, unlike the aforementioned some people, am giving you a real world idea of a possible solution to your problem. Which, to everyone but the aforementioned some people, is what a repair/troubleshooting forum is all about.
good luck with your repair. and keep in mind, that there are other solutions other than some people yelling for you to take it to the dealer.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Lorinser925
 
 Posted: 03-20-2010, 06:57 PM
Lorinser925's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
State: OTHER
Status: Offline
Post #4

Thank you for taking the time to reply to my post. I will look into the Y first thing tomorrow morning. I will let you know my results.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Lorinser925
 
 Posted: 03-26-2010, 02:42 PM
Lorinser925's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
State: OTHER
Status: Offline
Post #5

Where is the solenoid pack at? I couldn't find the Y. I went to Aamco and they told me I needed a new solenoid pack for $325 +tax. If it's just the wire than maybe I can do that. I'm a total noob with transmissions. I have a appointment with Aamco on Tuesday for 8 am... If the problem is caused by a cut/loose wire - I want to do that myself.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Rick99
 
 Posted: 03-28-2010, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,921
City: NH
State: NH
Status: Offline
Post #6

Even changing the solenoid pack isn't that big of a deal if you have a few basic tools and the will. You can probably do that yourself for about $150. I doubt Aamco will tell you if it's just a wire.

To see what the pack looks like, check out post #72 on my thread below:

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...t=p0740&page=4

I changed mine with the tranny out, but it can be done in about two hours or less with the tranny in place.

You can find it on your van if you just look at the top front of the tranny-- it has a big wire connector attached to it.


Post #8 in my thread above contains a link to the complete transmission diagnostic procedures manual that you can access online. If you open the manual, it has a section for each transmission code that will point you in the right direction as far as what the possible problems are (though it does reference use of various special tools, it can give you ideas about what to check even if you don't have those tools.) Note that the manual is for an '04 Neon, but it is the same transmission.

Just so you know, I'm hesitant to spend too much time going through the details of the fix here without knowing if you're likely to do it yourself or just take it to the shop. Let us know what you're willing to take on. If you want to do this yourself, I'm sure you'll get plenty of support here.
__________________
2003 Durango SLT
AWD, 4.7l
Mods: Remote Start
Just got a new set of BFG All-Terrains
Planning retrofit to 4WABS

1999 Durango SLT+
4x4, 5.2l
Mods: B&M Supercooler, Ford OEM Remote Start/Keyless Entry/Alarm, Heated Seats

01 T&C Limited 3.8l
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

mastertech
 
 Posted: 03-28-2010, 10:12 PM
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,019
State: WI
Status: Offline
Post #7

wiring is an issue with them, cut the harness open from the trans to the controler and pull on them to try to break one.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Lorinser925
 
 Posted: 03-30-2010, 01:28 PM
Lorinser925's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
State: OTHER
Status: Offline
Post #8

Thanks all for giving me pointers on where to look. Sadly it wasn't the wire but the solenoid pack itself and I just got back from Aamco with a transmission working like brand new again. $319 out the door.

My last Aamco visit was 5 months and they used Dexron 3 and I had no idea about the oil type until reading the threads on here. I will change my oil ASAP. Transmission has 86k miles - should I use ATF+3 or ATF+4? And what brand would you folks recommend.

Thanks again for all your help.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

StandOnCliff
 
 Posted: 03-30-2010, 02:57 PM
StandOnCliff's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,510
City: Dreary Erie
State: PA
Status: Offline
Post #9

Use ATF4+. It doesn't really matter the brand. Being it has Dexron in it, have it power flushed by a shop and insist they use ATF4+. If they insist Dexron with an adative is the same, take your business elsewhere.
A simple fluid and filter change will not get all the Dexron out.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!!!!! Limp Mode 03RamMar1ne 3G Dodge RAM - Drivetrain Talk 1 05-05-2009 02:11 PM
98 caravan Overheated - trans stuck in limp mode - HELP PLEASE warstoryz Dodge Caravan General Talk 1 09-26-2008 11:20 PM
2001 caravan sport is in limp mode jasons323 Dodge Caravan General Talk 0 05-26-2007 02:39 PM
94 3.3L Caravan in limp mode..HELP!! som1dies2nite Dodge Caravan General Talk 1 04-17-2006 10:43 AM
99 Grand Caravan SE transmission limp mode / CES on but only code 55 vsaltv Dodge Caravan General Talk 7 08-21-2005 09:16 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.





Privacy Statement