AC Clutch Won't Engage - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Dakota 2nd Gen (97 - 04) Forums > 2G Dodge Dakota General Talk

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

gym teacher
 
  Arrow AC Clutch Won't Engage - Posted: 08-10-2004, 04:49 PM
Registered User
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
City: Orange County, CA
State: CA
Status: Offline
Post #1

AC clutch won't engage when temp control is set at max cold and vent control is set to Max AC. Blower provides air at all speeds. Checked fuse in engine compartment - it's OK. Replaced relay with known-to-be-good (horn) relay. Then removed relay and jumpered #3 and #5. Clutch engages and compressor runs, however, after about 5 minutes at 1500 rpm, no cold air. System was working fine until it would not come on. Could it be a sensor that is keeping the clutch from engaging? If so, which one and where is it? Any other ideas would be much appreciated.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

six pak
 
 Posted: 08-13-2004, 05:11 PM
six pak's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 477
State: CT
Status: Offline
Post #2

Since you can force an engagment but no cooling sounds like a freon leak drained system . let a pro with the req tools and knowledge figure it out
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

gym teacher
 
 Posted: 08-13-2004, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
City: Orange County, CA
State: CA
Status: Offline
Post #3

Thanks Six Pak. I think you are correct. There are two sensors: the high head pressure sensor (located inline at the compressor output) and the low pressure sensor (located on the cannister). I jumpered the low pressure connector and the clutch immediately engaged. So the system is low on freon. I will have it checked by an A/C pro. Good call Sixer.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.





Privacy Statement