Replacing PCM on 06 4.7 Ram - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-13-2009, 10:26 AM
RussNash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy Replacing PCM on 06 4.7 Ram

I have a rebuilt PCM coming for my 2006 Dodge Ram 4.7 as the old one has a faulty injector driver circuit and have a few questions, I'd be grateful for any advice that can be offered.

1) From what I can see, the new PCM will need to be programmed with the vehicles VIN and current mileage, is this correct?

2) Would the ECU also need flashing with software?

3) Am I stuck with going to the dealer for the above and being subject to them rubbing their hands together in glee with $ signs in their eyes or is there an alternative?

I bought the rebuilt ECU from AutoSource Modules, normally they would perform VIN and mileage programming but stated in this case it had to be performed while the PCM was in the vehicle. The $375 I spent on the replacement PCM was a wallet buster for me and I'm dreading having to now find the extra money to get the unit programmed.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Russ.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT 4x4
RussNash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-13-2009, 10:32 AM
JasonW
User
 
JasonW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brownstown
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow, any chance you can return it and get your money back? You way over-paid for it IMO. I checked car-part.com and found one as low as $50. There are several for a 2006 4.7 Auto Trans non-flex fuel from $50-$200.

2005 Ram 1500 SLT Sport 4.7L 4x4 QC/SB
Performance:
FM TB | Air Ram Jet Stream | S&B CAI | Gibson Headers | 3" SI/2.5" DO | 4.56's | Detroit Truetrac | Hemifever SCT | Aeroforce WBO2 | Bilstein 5100s
Appearance: N-Fab Nerf-Steps (Line-X'd) | Leveled (TBs Cranked) | 2" Blocks | KMC XD Addict 17x9 w/BFG AT 315/70-17 | Unique Coatings Tails | Black Magic Behind the Grille | BedRug | Century Royal Cap | SRT-10 A-pillar w/Aeroforce Interceptor | PML Diff Cover | Fenderwell Liners
Awaiting Install: FM 206 Cams, FLX-180 Fan


2000 Durango SLT 4.7L 4x4
FM TB | Superchips | FLX-180 Fan | T/S Lift | PML Trans Pan
JasonW is offline  
#3 Old 10-13-2009, 10:53 AM
RussNash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Only problem I can see with those is that they are straight from salvage, in which case they won't work without undergoing a rebuild. Once the VIN and miles are inserted into an ECU for the 06, it's useless in another Ram without being rebuilt.

I shopped around a lot when looking for mine and this was the best price I found, the worst was over $600! Still better than going to the dealer for an OEM which is in the thousands

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT 4x4
RussNash is offline  
#4 Old 10-13-2009, 11:08 AM
JasonW
User
 
JasonW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brownstown
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wait, why would those not work for your truck if they are flashed with the correct VIN and miles? Are you sure this wouldn't work?

Anyway, as for your original question, sorry, I'm not sure, but you will definitely need the dealer or someone with the correct scanner (DRB-III I believe) to flash it for you.

2005 Ram 1500 SLT Sport 4.7L 4x4 QC/SB
Performance:
FM TB | Air Ram Jet Stream | S&B CAI | Gibson Headers | 3" SI/2.5" DO | 4.56's | Detroit Truetrac | Hemifever SCT | Aeroforce WBO2 | Bilstein 5100s
Appearance: N-Fab Nerf-Steps (Line-X'd) | Leveled (TBs Cranked) | 2" Blocks | KMC XD Addict 17x9 w/BFG AT 315/70-17 | Unique Coatings Tails | Black Magic Behind the Grille | BedRug | Century Royal Cap | SRT-10 A-pillar w/Aeroforce Interceptor | PML Diff Cover | Fenderwell Liners
Awaiting Install: FM 206 Cams, FLX-180 Fan


2000 Durango SLT 4.7L 4x4
FM TB | Superchips | FLX-180 Fan | T/S Lift | PML Trans Pan
JasonW is offline  
#5 Old 10-13-2009, 11:36 AM
RussNash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
The Dodge Ram PCM's from 06 onward are 'flash once and thats it', according to the service manual. Once they've been paired with a particular truck they cannot be re-flashed with the VIN of another truck, you either have to get a new one from Dodge (ouch!) or a rebuilt one.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT 4x4
RussNash is offline  
#6 Old 10-13-2009, 09:02 PM
hemimech
Registered User
 
hemimech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm not sure what service manual you are reading. The replacement PCM as long as it's the correct type for the truck can be flashed to work with your truck. Installing a replacement one is more involved than just updating software. Yes it can & will have to be done at a dealer with a Starscan diagnostic tool. they will need the Personal Identification Number to access the vehicles security. This # is on the new truck invoice or they can get the # from Chrysler's keycode database. At that point they will enter in the VIN & the mileage which will be confirmed by the instrument cluster. The dealer will also have to download the latest engine/transmission flash file for your truck to load into the replacement module. The new module will then need to learn the ETC (electronic throttle body) positions and the transmission will need to be run thru a quick learn process. Finally they will place an "Authorized modification" label on the module as it will always keep the original vehicles VIN# recorded in the background for legal reasons.
hemimech is offline  
#7 Old 10-13-2009, 09:40 PM
RussNash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemimech View Post
I'm not sure what service manual you are reading. The replacement PCM as long as it's the correct type for the truck can be flashed to work with your truck. Installing a replacement one is more involved than just updating software. Yes it can & will have to be done at a dealer with a Starscan diagnostic tool. they will need the Personal Identification Number to access the vehicles security. This # is on the new truck invoice or they can get the # from Chrysler's keycode database. At that point they will enter in the VIN & the mileage which will be confirmed by the instrument cluster. The dealer will also have to download the latest engine/transmission flash file for your truck to load into the replacement module. The new module will then need to learn the ETC (electronic throttle body) positions and the transmission will need to be run thru a quick learn process. Finally they will place an "Authorized modification" label on the module as it will always keep the original vehicles VIN# recorded in the background for legal reasons.
Well, I'm really kicking myself now. I've been back through the service manual for my 2006 and can't find where I got that information from, if I really could have just bought a used one and gotten it re-programmed then I just wasted a lot of money that I could ill afford to spend in the first place. Now, I will need to add the cost of having the dealer install and program it. My wife and I are having enough trouble making ends meet as it is. I suppose the plus side is that I have a lifetime warranty with the new ECU.

Thanks for the information, hemimech, I just wish I'd known this sooner

Russ.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT 4x4
RussNash is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing speakers on an 89 ram 50 help 89ramd50 Dodge Ram Truck 1st Gen (88 - 93) Forum 0 12-11-2007 05:01 PM
Replacing pcm Vader1978 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 2 10-04-2007 04:36 PM
Replacing The Pcm On A 2002 Neon JB AUTO Dodge Neon - General Talk 3 11-05-2006 01:30 AM
Pcm Needs Replacing 99DODGEDRIVER 1G Dodge Durango General Talk 5 04-08-2004 01:27 PM
Replacing the 6X9's in a Ram Polar_Bus Mobile Audio & Electronics Talk 2 10-29-2003 12:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome