How do I bleed power steering system? - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums

#1 Old 07-09-2009, 09:36 PM
monkeywrench06

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
How do I bleed power steering system?

How do I bleed the power steering system on a 1996 Grand Voyager. I just finished replacing a leaking power steering pump. After starting it up I now have no power steering at all Power steering fluid level in the reservoir is good. I turned the steering wheel full left-right-left a couple of times hoping that it would auto-bleed, but it didn't make any difference. Really hoping I didn't get a dud of a pump - that wasn't a fun job, and I really don't feel like doing it again.

Thanks for any advice, suggestions...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-09-2009, 10:55 PM
RickMN

How about the "official" Chrysler power steering bleed procedure?

Bleed Air out of Chrysler Power Steering

I'm a retired ASE Master/L-1 Technician. I still keep current with the latest automotive technology. My blog now has over 1000 in-depth repair articles, TSB's, and wiring diagrams: Rick's Blog
#3 Old 07-11-2009, 09:13 PM
monkeywrench06

(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the link. I tried this procedure several times today, but it made no difference. Must have gotten a bad pump. This sucks! I guess the only consolation is that it should go quicker the second time...
#4 Old 07-11-2009, 10:50 PM
RickMN

By the way, did you replace the nylon washers on the PS hoses with new ones? Were there O rings on the ends of the hoses? If you don't replace those, you can get a leak. Also, you have to be really careful not to overtighten them. These nylon/o ring combinations can leak if overtightened.

But if you do have to replace the pump. Any job worth doing once, is worth doing twice (3 times in some cases)

We've all been there. Bummer