Dodge ram oil pressure gauge falls then check gauges light comes on - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 04-06-2009, 10:46 AM
ksjosker
Registered User
 
ksjosker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Dodge ram oil pressure gauge falls then check gauges light comes on

I have a 2004 dodge ram with a problem. While driving the oil pressure gauge drops suddenly and the check gauges light illuminates. If I pull over and turn the the truck off then back on, it's fine. Sometimes it will keep doing it, sometimes it wont. It is still under warranty so I took it back to where I purchased it and they replaced the oil pressure switch; still doing the same thing. I was having a few other issues with the truck that they couldn't figure out so they brought it to a dodge dealer for a diagnostic. He said he had them diagnose the oil pressure gauge also. My car dealer claims the dodge dealer said the problem is in the instrument cluster; but my dealers warranty does NOT cover the instrument cluster. So I found a company who repairs them and they said they doubt it is in the cluster. They think the repair shop purchased an aftermarket pressure switch and that could cause the problem.
When the oil pressure gauge falls, the truck runs the same. It does not run rough or anything...

Is it possible the aftermarket switch is junk?? Thanks for your help!!

Last edited by ksjosker; 04-06-2009 at 01:37 PM.
ksjosker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 04-06-2009, 12:17 PM
JDMorgan
Registered User
 
JDMorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
go to a dodge dealer and get the factory one i think mine was around 20 bucks its in the uper front corner of the motor really easy to change already has sealent on it too just unplug it unscrew it and put the new one in. I cought my dodge dealer scaming me on that they said they replaced it under warenty when mine did the same but i put a blue dot of paint on it befor it went in the third time for them to tell me it was replaced and when i picked it up looked quick and there the sender was with the blue dot. I think they just dont do it bec they know its under warenty and they can keep billing dodge for alot of diagnostic time and they know its just a sender. As soon as i put my new one in it stopped doing havent had a problem since
JDMorgan is offline  
#3 Old 04-06-2009, 01:00 PM
moparman2k2
Senior Member
 
moparman2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ishpeming, MI
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
agreed try an OE sender



Mike

Current Rides:
2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 ext. cab LS
2011 Chevrolet Malibu 1lt Allstar edition

Former Rams: 86 W150 RC/LB 4x4, 93 W150 RC/SB 4x4, 00 1500 QC 4x4 Sport, 02 1500 QC 4x4 Sport
moparman2k2 is offline  
#4 Old 04-06-2009, 01:05 PM
MonsoonMike
Moderator Mike
 
MonsoonMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chandler
Posts: 21,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
I don't see why you are trying to fix this yourself. Take it to Dodge, tell them its still not fixed.. and they should fix it.


::2014 Ram 2500 CTD Crew Cab Granite Crystal Metallic::

MonsoonMike is offline  
#5 Old 04-06-2009, 01:30 PM
ksjosker
Registered User
 
ksjosker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06QuadRam View Post
I don't see why you are trying to fix this yourself. Take it to Dodge, tell them its still not fixed.. and they should fix it.
I purchased it through a private dealer, not the dodge dealership. It is still covered under warranty through my private dealer, but he tells me it's something in the instrument cluster, which is NOT covered under his warranty.
ksjosker is offline  
#6 Old 04-06-2009, 01:35 PM
ksjosker
Registered User
 
ksjosker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
What should I do? Should I replace the switch from the dealership and see what that does? What if that's the problem, do I go back to where I purchased the truck and tell them I fixed the problem.? I don't have much balls here, I am not one to bitch about things, but damn it, I am getting quite frustrated.
ksjosker is offline  
#7 Old 04-06-2009, 01:46 PM
Wingviper
Wingviper
 
Wingviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I put an after market oil pressure gauge and sending unit in my 04, I still have the facory
one in as well, I would try replacing the factory sending unit first as its cheap and easy to do, should only take 15 min. to change out.

The dealers are getting pretty bad on doing what they should, I expected they would as
they are not selling cars, I had a heck of a time getting them to service my wifes PT, had to bring it back 3 times to do something that sould only take 1 day.
Wingviper is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Transmission Diagnostic Chart tactransman 2G Dodge RAM - Drivetrain Talk 0 03-07-2008 01:49 PM
Dodge Reveals New 2006 Ram 1500 FreeLantz Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 60 06-08-2006 08:58 PM
Dodge Introduces the Largest Pickup Cab Ever RAM MAN Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 39 06-29-2005 10:09 PM
2004 Dodge Truck Highlights RAM MAN Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 0 09-03-2003 04:27 PM
Press Kit: 2004 Dodge Car Product Line-up RAM MAN Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 0 08-01-2003 02:42 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome