TPMS -- Tire Pressure Monitoring System - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP DODGETALK MERCHANDISE ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Ram Truck 4th Gen (09 – Up) Forums > 4G Dodge RAM - Tire and Wheel Talk

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

LaidNeon
 
  TPMS -- Tire Pressure Monitoring System - Posted: 12-02-2008, 09:39 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #1

So the 09s have the TPMS sensors on the rims & i have swapped wheels with another ram owner on here. Only problem is, the older rams don't have this system. Anyone know how to turn it off?? lol
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

BIGBAD4.7
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 03:03 PM
BIGBAD4.7's Avatar
TWEAKED 4.7
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,390
City: Baytown, TX
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
View This User's Timeslip
Post #2

does anyone not know anything about this? i know there are a few 09's out there that have already installed aftermarket rims. help him out guys! shit!
__________________
2002 Dodge Ram 4.7L SC/SB
Crane KRC 212X Cams
SCT Tuned by HEMIFEVER
08-09 Intake Manifold
ASP Underdrive Pulley
Fastman TB
Gibson Headers
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

myoung84
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 03:11 PM
myoung84's Avatar
Administrator
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10,451
City: Broken Arrow
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #3

Can you take the TPMS out of the factory rims and install on the old ones?
__________________


2014 Ram 1500 4x4 Outdoorsman
Retro Shop Custom FXR Projectors | Diablo inTune | Vararam Intake | Moe's 87mm TB | BT Oil Catch Can
Toyo A/T II Tires | Bilstein 5100 Front Shocks @ 2.1" | Bilstein 5100 Rear Shocks | Movotech UCA's
Bora 1.25" Spacers | AirLift Air Bags | Bestop PowerBoards | Undercover LUX Bed Cover | BedRug

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4x4 Overland Hemi

Magnaflow Exhaust | Volant Intake | Diablo inTune w/Hemifever Tuning | BT Oil Catch Can

View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 03:20 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #4

Im not even sure how they are secured to the wheels. Are they attatched to the valve stem???
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Quadder
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 03:59 PM
Quadder's Avatar
Quadder
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 433
City: Gunnison, CO
Status: Offline
Post #5

Transfer the pressure monitors to the new wheels.
I'm not sure if you can defeat the TPMS since its a federally required thing. Like airbags or cat converters.

Pull the fuse?
__________________
2008 Grand Cherokee Laredo X 4.7 V8 QT2
2013 Hemi Durango Crew
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

BIGBAD4.7
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 11:06 PM
BIGBAD4.7's Avatar
TWEAKED 4.7
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,390
City: Baytown, TX
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
View This User's Timeslip
Post #6

??? lol ???
__________________
2002 Dodge Ram 4.7L SC/SB
Crane KRC 212X Cams
SCT Tuned by HEMIFEVER
08-09 Intake Manifold
ASP Underdrive Pulley
Fastman TB
Gibson Headers
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-03-2008, 11:34 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #7

__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

jvcougar
 
 Posted: 12-04-2008, 09:48 PM
jvcougar's Avatar
Mojo 2
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 416
City: Spokane
State: WA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #8

Doh...haven't been on for a couple days. Disregard my PM LaidNeon. Those are what I paid about $30 a wheel for to make the dinging and light go away. The owner's maunual says it'll damage the computer if you run it without the sensors in the wheels. Don't know enough to know this isn't true. I was told you cannot turn the system off and that the sensors ARE different for the 09's. (saw some good deals on e-bay for other Chrysler sensors and was looking to save a little $.)
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-04-2008, 11:53 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #9

i don't see how it could damage the computer......definitely looking into everything now
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

SmokinMirror
 
 Posted: 12-07-2008, 04:17 PM
SmokinMirror's Avatar
m@n !$ oBs0Le+e
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,544
City: Phoenix
Status: Offline
Post #10

2008 Ram's could be transferred to other factory or aftermarket wheels. It should be able to be done.
__________________
"The search for truth is more precious than its possession." - Albert Einstein
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 07:48 AM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #11

How do you calibrate new sensors???
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

jvcougar
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 01:13 PM
jvcougar's Avatar
Mojo 2
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 416
City: Spokane
State: WA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #12

Calibration? What calibration? You either have enough tire pressure or you don't and you get the warning.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 04:55 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #13

What im trying to ask is; if I install new sensors, is there a procedure I need to follow so that the system can pick up the signal?? Or will its just leanrn it on its own?? That's what I ment by saying calibrate
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

jvcougar
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 05:38 PM
jvcougar's Avatar
Mojo 2
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 416
City: Spokane
State: WA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #14

LaidNeon....I was just being sarcastic. I read (I think on another thread) someone comment that they are hard to calibrate. DISCLAIMER: I am in no way an expert in this area and would be happy if proven wrong by someone more knowledgable in this area.

I have an 06 SRT8 Charger. That system monitors the pressure and displays all four tire pressures in the display. The Ram's system doesn't give you a current numerical pressure reading, I believe it'll just be the warning your getting now if pressure drops to a critical point.

The way I understand you don't have to calibrate them, especially if your getting the ones out of your old tires. I got the extra set of four (for the 09 Ram) for my winter wheels and tires and have had no warning lamps or audible alerts since the install.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

LaidNeon
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 07:59 PM
LaidNeon's Avatar
dotlow
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,443
City: Houston
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #15

haha nah bro its cool, i know i sometime have an F'ed up way of explaining stuff to where i'm the only one that understands what i'm talking about. wasn't sure if it was one of those situations here haha. i saw that on another thread as well but i can't find it now.
__________________
- Dan


09 Ram 1500 CC 4.7

- Bagged & Bodied on 24s
- 2011 HD Clip
- Wood Bed Floor
- IN PIECES
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

SmokinMirror
 
 Posted: 12-08-2008, 08:49 PM
SmokinMirror's Avatar
m@n !$ oBs0Le+e
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,544
City: Phoenix
Status: Offline
Post #16

I might be wrong but my tech jus had them swapped over. I didnt ask for details =(
__________________
"The search for truth is more precious than its possession." - Albert Einstein
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

jvcougar
 
 Posted: 12-09-2008, 01:53 AM
jvcougar's Avatar
Mojo 2
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 416
City: Spokane
State: WA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #17

No worries man. I just hope you get your wheels fixed.

BTW...I was at the dealer today dropping off the Charger for service and saw your colored truck in a Sport pull up. Very nice paint job.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

mheideman
 
 Posted: 01-10-2009, 07:03 PM
mheideman's Avatar
Whiskey Bent & Hell Bound
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,277
City: Sacramento Area
State: CA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #18

How do these work exactly? Is there a battery and transmitter in the valves? If so, how long is the battery life?
__________________
2009 Ram 1500 SLT Crew Cab Big Horn Edition
5.7L Hemi
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

3ghemi
 
 Posted: 03-16-2009, 12:27 PM
3ghemi's Avatar
2 SLOW 4 U
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 470
State: LA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery
Post #19

the only time where they need to be reprogrammed is if you are replacing sensors. it has to be done with the starscan tool, and they are not interchangeable for some years. but i have seen them on aftermarket wheels depending on wheel type.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

moparman2k2
 
 Posted: 03-16-2009, 12:39 PM
moparman2k2's Avatar
Senior Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,643
City: Ishpeming, MI
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #20

glad I don't have that crap on my truck. the ones I have seen with it are so damn sensitive they go off all the time
__________________


Mike

Current Rides:
2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 ext. cab LS
2011 Chevrolet Malibu 1lt Allstar edition

Former Rams: 86 W150 RC/LB 4x4, 93 W150 RC/SB 4x4, 00 1500 QC 4x4 Sport, 02 1500 QC 4x4 Sport
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Pressure Monitoring System crash1369 3G Ram Power Wagon Talk 111 11-09-2009 11:30 PM
Generic Chrysler Diagnostic Trouble Code List tactransman 1G Dodge Durango General Talk 0 10-18-2007 01:27 PM
2008 Dodge Charger — Bold, Powerful and Capable RAM MAN Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 0 09-12-2007 01:48 PM
Press Release: 2007 Dodge Nitro FreeLantz Rumor Mill & Gossip Talk 0 09-01-2006 04:55 PM
275/45-20's anybody have this size tire on their mag? SLAPPY Dodge Magnum - Interior/Exterior Talk 20 07-09-2005 08:56 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.





Privacy Statement