2000 Stratus, Heater Box? - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 04-14-2004, 11:06 PM
lelajude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question 2000 Stratus, Heater Box?

I have a 2000 Dodge Stratus and was recently told by the dealer that my A/C is not blowing cold air due to a cracked heater box. The heat works just fine. I was also told it would cost $1000 to fix it ! Of course I told them to forget it. I have been doing some research online and am trying to figure out if the heater box and heater core the same thing? Also if someone can give me some advice as to how much this part costs and any other information that would be great. Of course I am a woman and have no clue! Thank you for your time.
lelajude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 04-15-2004, 03:37 PM
LB3711
Moose
 
LB3711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Trumbull
Posts: 4,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
heater box and heater core are the same thing just a different name. Does the fan blow on all fan speeds? I dont have a 2000 so I'm not sure whats involved in a heater core changeout


2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi QC 4x4
Ram Pics
2001 Dodge Stratus ES 4Dr. 2.7L Magnum DOHC V6. SOLD
http://pages.cthome.net/lb3711 :: http://www.cardomain.com/id/lb3711
2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4Dr. 4.7L Magnum V8. SOLD
http://www.cardomain.com/id/lb3712
Proud Member of The Original WCPW

LB3711 is online now  
#3 Old 04-15-2004, 09:54 PM
lelajude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Wink

Its funny that you asked me that because just recently it was only blowing out if it was turned all the way up. I just had some work done at the dealer that was under extended warranty and they told me they had to replace the blower motor and thats why it was only blowing out if it was turned on high but according to them the a/c problem comes from a cracked heater box that is not under warranty. I did try the a/c just for the heck of it after they replaced the blower motor and it still does not work. Thank you so much for you help.
lelajude is offline  
#4 Old 04-19-2004, 07:58 PM
LB3711
Moose
 
LB3711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Trumbull
Posts: 4,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Maybe they forgot to charge the AC or there is a leak somewhere.


2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi QC 4x4
Ram Pics
2001 Dodge Stratus ES 4Dr. 2.7L Magnum DOHC V6. SOLD
http://pages.cthome.net/lb3711 :: http://www.cardomain.com/id/lb3711
2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4Dr. 4.7L Magnum V8. SOLD
http://www.cardomain.com/id/lb3712
Proud Member of The Original WCPW

LB3711 is online now  
#5 Old 04-27-2004, 05:37 AM
gabbledak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i think that she/you should first check to see if your compressor is turning on when you turn on the a/c. if the compressor isn't turning on then it could be a series of things.
The a/c wasn't working in my 96 stratus and it was holding pressure fine and it ended up being a sensor on the high pressure end of the a/c line.
also if the compressor isn't turning on then it might be a leak in the system like lb3711 said, and quite possibly be near or at the heater core/box.
gabbledak is offline  
#6 Old 10-06-2004, 10:31 PM
POSstratus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
okay my problem, is a/c will turn on (i can hear ther click) will not blow on low or meddium settings, only on high does any one know how to fix?
POSstratus is offline  
#7 Old 10-07-2004, 02:03 PM
rkfsm
Registered User
 
rkfsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Blower motor resistor. It's an incredibly common problem. Easy to replace with one each phillips and flatblade screw driver and a socket set, and it only costs about $20 for the part. If you need instructions/diagrams/pictures/schematics, let me know. The hardest part is finding someplace to put all the stuff in your glove box while you do this.

RK
rkfsm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome