Gas Gauge Problems - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Ram Truck 1st Gen (88 - 93) Forum

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

91ShelbyDaytona
 
  Gas Gauge Problems - Posted: 01-08-2008, 11:25 AM
91ShelbyDaytona's Avatar
Off Roader
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
City: Viroqua
State: WI
Status: Offline
Post #1

I have a problem with my gas gauge. Right after i start up my truck my gas gauge will move all around, like go all the way down to below E and then move around back and forth slowly and will never sit still whether i am driving or sitting in the driveway. I was wondering if the sending unit is bad or maybe something in the wiring, or that is just the way these are. That also makes me wonder about the rest of the gauges. Has anyone else had problems with any of the gauges on these trucks?
I plan on putting a tach on the dash since these never came with one and maybe a trans temp and any other ones i need. I was also wondering if anyone has mounted any gauges in these trucks and if they have, where and any pics.
__________________
1992 Dodge W150 5.2 magnum, 4" rough country lift, 33x12.50x15 mtz's, ultra alloys, 4.56 gears, borgeson steering shaft, Hooker headers, high-flow cat, custom cat-back, herculiner bed liner...
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

zerko
 
 Posted: 01-10-2008, 09:44 PM
zerko's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 511
City: Sudbury ,Ontario
Status: Offline
Post #2

Kinda sounds like you have a short somewhere. This isn't normal for these trucks.
I would look at the wires under the truck and at the top of the tank, for any rubbing and/or corrosion.

Here's some crappy pics of my gauges. Mechanical oil pressure, volts, and Tach.
The oil and volts go where the Message center was ( red light in between is the check engine light), and the tach is ty-rapped around the steering column. The Sirius sat radio is above the rearview mirror, with the antenna out the interrior and cargo lights.

If you can, use all "electric gauges" instead of the"manual" type.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0913.JPG (46.1 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0914.JPG (49.0 KB, 2 views)
__________________
If I could buy My truck as a Brand New unit today, I definately would!
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

91ShelbyDaytona
 
 Posted: 01-11-2008, 10:17 AM
91ShelbyDaytona's Avatar
Off Roader
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
City: Viroqua
State: WI
Status: Offline
Post #3

thanks...i will try checking that. i see that auto meter makes a 2 gauge pillar pod for our trucks. I might put one of them in possibly. Does that tach affect your vision of the speedometer?
__________________
1992 Dodge W150 5.2 magnum, 4" rough country lift, 33x12.50x15 mtz's, ultra alloys, 4.56 gears, borgeson steering shaft, Hooker headers, high-flow cat, custom cat-back, herculiner bed liner...
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

dizzyD
 
 Posted: 01-11-2008, 11:51 AM
dizzyD's Avatar
Registered MOPAR User
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,008
City: 714
State: CA
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
View This User's Dyno Entries
Post #4

If it was like my 93 Dak, I had my fuel pump and sensor changed 3 times. I finally gave up and kept track of miles, plus the low fuel light still worked right, Once it came on I had 30 mile to get gas.
BTW, the sensor should be part of the fuel pump which is located in the tank!
__________________
2012 Challenger SXT+ 220ci 5 speed, blackberry pearl, diablo in-tune I1000, Carbon fiber pedal covers, 11% tint

1999 Durango SLT+ leather, 360ci 4x4, hughes plenum rebuild, superchips 3865, tow pkg, 3.55 LSD, rear tail light guard, K&N CAI, FM 50MM TB, crystal clear headlights, Torsion/shackle lift, Rancho RSX's, Pacesetter headers, dual trans & oil temp a-pillar pod, chrome deep trans pan, drilled & slotted rotors, 10 disc cd changer.

2004 Ram 1500 SLT 2WD QC LB 345ci, FM 84MM TB, slotted brake rotors, step bar, diamond plate pedals, locking gas door, tow package w/ 3.55 lsd, Hellwig LP-15, shell and carpet kit, 18% door window tint, Magnaflow 12641, Slammed1's 3" spindle lift and 2.5 coil spacer, rear lift shackles, Airraid MIT, superchips 3815, 6K front winch & custom Winch Plate, Autometer phantom trans gauge mounted in Mopar SRT A-Pillar single pod, lumber/roof rack, Rancho 9000X shocks, ATS fender flairs, 1" BL, gap guards, black grille, silver painted bezel(soon 2b white)
Next: HD rear lift bags

Gone but not forgotten 93 factory freak CC dakota lifted 4x4 318
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

91ShelbyDaytona
 
 Posted: 01-11-2008, 03:00 PM
91ShelbyDaytona's Avatar
Off Roader
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
City: Viroqua
State: WI
Status: Offline
Post #5

yea i thought that it was in the tank. Does mine have a fuel light?...i have never even looked. That wouldn't be so bad if it did because then i wouldnt have to worry if i am going to run out or not. Or would that light be determined by where the gauge needle is at?
__________________
1992 Dodge W150 5.2 magnum, 4" rough country lift, 33x12.50x15 mtz's, ultra alloys, 4.56 gears, borgeson steering shaft, Hooker headers, high-flow cat, custom cat-back, herculiner bed liner...
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

zerko
 
 Posted: 01-14-2008, 08:27 PM
zerko's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 511
City: Sudbury ,Ontario
Status: Offline
Post #6

No, you don't have the low fuel light, although, my wiring diagram says the sending unit has a "low fuel switch".
Yes, the tach blocks half of the speedo. But, I never go that fast anyways!
__________________
If I could buy My truck as a Brand New unit today, I definately would!
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing a Gas Gauge doesn’t work RAM MAN Mopar Muscle Talk 3 10-24-2007 08:31 AM
Gas Gauge? BCM? 96 GC VannaWhite Dodge Caravan/Grand Caravan Talk 4 08-19-2007 04:04 PM
Gas Gauge? w100 360ci 1972-1987 Dodge Ram Trucks (D, W-series) 19 11-20-2006 04:10 PM
Gas gauge strangeness dervari 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 5 09-22-2006 10:17 PM
Caravan Gas Gauge Rockytop Dodge Caravan/Grand Caravan Talk 5 09-22-2005 07:43 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.





Privacy Statement