emission computer reset sequence - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 11-18-2007, 10:29 AM
nursekdb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
emission computer reset sequence

I just had the oxygen sensor replaced on my 98 caravan and need to pass emissions testing. The guy at the garage said I have to drive it 200 miles to reset the computer. A friend tells me there is an easier way that involves a driving sequence. Is this true? and what is the sequence?
nursekdb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-18-2007, 01:11 PM
XDGT03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've never heard of a driving sequence to accelerate the computer reading.
XDGT03 is offline  
#3 Old 11-18-2007, 02:07 PM
RickMN
Registered User
 
RickMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You have to complete a "drive cycle" to get all the readiness monitors to "complete."'

Drive in stop and go traffic with at least 4 idle periods of at least 30 seconds each. Then drive on the highway at a constant speed over 40mph but less than 65 mpg for at least 15 mins. Avoid heavy acceleration, sudden deceleration, and wide open throttle.

I'm a retired ASE Master/L-1 Technician. I still keep current with the latest automotive technology. My blog now has over 1000 in-depth repair articles, TSB's, and wiring diagrams: Rick's Blog
RickMN is offline  
#4 Old 11-18-2007, 04:01 PM
donald7150
Registered User
 
donald7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
just pull the IOD fuse for a few minutes, that should take care of it

2005 Chrysler 300 (DD): 6000K 50W HIDs, Niteshades, LED Interior light Conversion...
'99 Caravan: Work van. 6000K HID headlights and fogs
'92 Chrysler Daytona IROC R/T (2.2L DOHC Turbo-III)
donald7150 is offline  
#5 Old 11-18-2007, 06:26 PM
Rick99
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NH
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by donald7150
just pull the IOD fuse for a few minutes, that should take care of it

This will not help. The computer runs a number of emissions tests called "monitors". Each test runs when certain operating criteria are met. For example, the torque converter clutch monitor will run when the transmission temperature is at the right level, the vehicle is traveling over 45 or so and the throttle is less than 10%. The computer will command lock up and then it will see if the difference between transmission engine rpm and transmission input rpm is within "specs" (in the case of the minivan, less than 60rpm difference). If the test shows that the vehicle is in spec, the computer will record that test as a "pass" in its memory. Then when you go for your emissions check, the technician will check all the test results-- they must all be "pass" for the vehicle to pass emissions.

This prevents someone that has a check engine light on from cheating by simply clearing the light before going in for the emissions test.

The trick for you is to allow the conditions for all of the monitors to run so that the car can pass emissions. What RickMN has written should do the trick.

2003 Durango SLT
AWD, 4.7l
Mods: Remote Start
Just got a new set of BFG All-Terrains
Planning retrofit to 4WABS

1999 Durango SLT+
4x4, 5.2l
Mods: B&M Supercooler, Ford OEM Remote Start/Keyless Entry/Alarm, Heated Seats

01 T&C Limited 3.8l
Rick99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long does it take a computer to fully reset it's parameters USMC5593 3G Dodge Ram Performance Talk 20 12-17-2006 05:23 PM
how do i reset computer OklaHemi 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 5 12-15-2006 01:20 AM
Superchips and computer reset question? skaarew 3G Dodge Ram Performance Talk 6 12-31-2005 02:44 PM
reset computer ozzy60107 Dodge Dakota 1st Gen (87 -96) Forum 2 12-16-2005 11:22 PM
Any truth to this?? CPU reset question. lucky8926 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 11 03-16-2005 09:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome