How To: Automatic Headlight Control!!! - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS

DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > DodgeTalk Knowledge Base: Dodge/Ram Truck Articles > Dodge/Ram Truck Specific Articles > Dodge Ram Truck 3rd Gen (02 Up) Articles > 3G Dodge RAM - General Miscellaneous Articles

Closed Thread

GC714

How To: Automatic Headlight Control!!! - Posted: 12-23-2006, 03:27 PM
:D Hello!!!
City: Trenton
State: FL
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
View This User's Timeslip
Post #1

Please remember that I am not a professional installer, this is how I did this in my truck and it works for me, there might be a better way, Do this at your own risk!!

Required items:

1 DEI 545T module
1 Extra 30-40 Amp 5 pin relay (3 total)
wire, wire crimps, solder, etc.

How To:

The DEI module comes with 2 relays, one is for Headlights the other for Parking Lights. On my truck I tried to eliminate one, while I was able to get the module to function properly, the headlight system acted as if there was an open in the circuit. Constant dinging like the headlights were left on, even though they were not and no key in ignition.

Red- 12 volt + constant (required)

Orange- ground when armed, Connect to Ground when Armed output of the security system (optional)

Black- Chassis Ground, use a good solid ground. At drivers side kick panel there is a factory grd. location. (required)

Blue/white stripe- Aux. RF channel input of alarm system. (optional)