DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Couple of repair questions.

2K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Moparite 
#1 ·
Had a "free" inspection a few weeks ago when I got my oil changed at a local place. They pointed out a few things that needed replacing and I wanted to do a littel research here before having the work done.

First, they said the alternator drive belt needs replacing. Is that the same as the serpentine belt? :eek:
If so, I don't see anything wrong with it but it is a little hard to tell without removing it. Should I remove it or is there some other way to tell?

Also they list V/C Gasket. Remove and replace valve cover gasket - Both sides.

i'm no mechanic so exactly what do I look for to tell if this needs to be replaced? :eek:

Lastly, ever since they did the inspection I have a "whining" noise when accelerating. Did not do this before. It's not a belt squealing. I know that's not alot of info but does that sound like anything specific I can check for?

Thanks for any help.

#2 ·
alternator belts these days run forever! well almost. pop it off with a 15mm wrench. bend it both ways. if there is cracking on either side closer to 1" to each other, than most guys suggest replacing it. even if its cracked, i wouldnt replace it.
v-c gaskets! valve cover gaskets. if the motor has oil weeping down the side, most times, cause they are a standard reusable rubber gasket, the covers just need to be torqued a bit. they squash and resquash, over and over.
it sounds to me like the mech is on a fishing mission for money.
and maybe he got the belt dirty w/ oil when he was checking it out.
from the internet, actually its hard to tell. you need a second opinion or a buddy to just take a look.

#3 ·