2002 RAM 1500 - Electrical? No power, flashing red cluster light, no remote, etc. - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Ram Truck 3rd Gen (02 08) Forums > 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

Stangman
 
  2002 RAM 1500 - Electrical? No power, flashing red cluster light, no remote, etc. - Posted: 11-25-2012, 03:38 PM
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #1

I'm trying to chase down an issue with my truck. Everything, except the radio, seems to work when the key is on. However, when the key is off it is like there is no power at all except for the flashing red light in the instrument cluster. There are no lights, remote locks don't work, etc. I have swapped the ignition module and fuse #51 so far. Anyone have any idea where I go next?

I did notice the radio / clock flicker on an off a couple of times when I was driving down the highway last week, but it didn't stay on.

Frustration is setting in.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

nh5
 
 Posted: 11-29-2012, 09:32 PM
nh5's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 431
State: NY
Status: Offline
Post #2

The Bus connector behind the e-brake connector. May have worked it's self loose, there's a bolt through the middle of it, plastic cover on the front, dozens of wires coming from it. FYI: There was a recall on this connector!
__________________
02 Ram 1500 QC 4X4 Sport 5.9L Magnum, EQ Iron RAM Heads, 52mm Fastman TB, ebay Shorty Headers, Magnaflow 12576, SRT Hood, 180deg Stat, Superchips 3815, Taylor Thundervolt Wires, E-Cutout, Detroit Tru Trac & 3.92's, rvinyl'd tail lights, led's all over, leds in tow mirrors, switchbacks, 6k HID's Hi/low + fogs, RE XXX components (front doors), Skar 5.25 components rear doors, Sundown audio SAX 125.4, Kenwood X995, DC Audio M3 8, DC 1.2k, RAAMMat throughout the cab and doors, blue led dash, new carpet, moog joints, Bilstein HD's.

Next, Exhaust, 17rr's 2200 stall TC

http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/1943/009sq.jpg
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

dmcelhannon
 
 Posted: 11-29-2012, 10:25 PM
dmcelhannon's Avatar
Moderator David Mack
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 28,394
City: McAllen
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery
View Member's FaceBook Profile
Post #3

Welcome to DT!

If the problem isn't the bus connection at the firewall, update the thread OK?

__________________

If you start a thread, be responsible and post the final outcome.


2002 Ram 1500 SLT 4x4 QC ~ 02 Ram 45RFE to Jeep GC TCM 5-45RFE Upgrade - (Nov.01) 4.7L with 85K/3142hrs, Knolton Thunder Cylinder Heads & HO Cams by Sawcut, 4.56 R&P/DTT, SRT-10 Pod w/Dynojet Wideband Commander, 2-speed manual transfer case, Clifford Security System w/Auto Start/Auto Windows, RB1 CD/DVD/NAV Infinity Sound System w/30GB iPod, Offroad Package, 33" BFG T/A KO, Mopar Rear Wheel Liners, EBC Greenstuff Roadsport Brake Pads, K&N w/Airaid Jr Modular Intake Tube, BBK 70mm Throttle Body, AIR_RAM Jet Stream Scoop, PML Diff Cover, ASP Underdrive Crank Pulley, MSD 1.65 Alt Pulley, V8 Lincoln E-Fan, FK-60 E-Fan Controller w/relay, 180 Jet T-Stat, Flowmaster SI/DO Exhaust, Tire-2-Tire Chrome Tuber Step, Line of Fire LED Light Bar, Sylvania Ultra Silverstars, $1600 Oil Pickup Tube

Texas 1845: We the People of the Republic of Texas, acknowledging,
with gratitude, the grace and beneficence of God.


~ Waiting to fix my Ram! ~ 2-Years 65-Days and Counting! ~


View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

MonsoonMike
 
 Posted: 11-30-2012, 09:49 AM
MonsoonMike's Avatar
Formally 07MegaCabRam
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,693
City: Chandler
State: AZ
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery View This User's Garage
Post #4

Way to go and help out the newbie! Wonder if he comes back? With that type of help, why wouldn't he? Oh.. cause he doesn't want to have the mod bug bite him in the wallet!
__________________


::2014 Ram 2500 CTD Crew Cab Granite Crystal Metallic::

View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Stangman
 
 Posted: 12-01-2012, 03:15 PM
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #5

Hi guys,

I removed the bus connection and reconnected it. It's all tight, but the problem is still there.

More ideas?
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

dmcelhannon
 
 Posted: 12-01-2012, 09:46 PM
dmcelhannon's Avatar
Moderator David Mack
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 28,394
City: McAllen
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery
View Member's FaceBook Profile
Post #6

OK, maybe the computer thinks you have the factory security system. That's should be what that LED light on the dash is all about. You can try removing the Ignition Off Draw (IOD) fuse for a few minutes. Its should be mounted in a fuse holder that on the side of the fuse box under the hood. That should reset the security system. If that doesn't help, I believe the battery has a short or is just plain bad.

__________________

If you start a thread, be responsible and post the final outcome.


2002 Ram 1500 SLT 4x4 QC ~ 02 Ram 45RFE to Jeep GC TCM 5-45RFE Upgrade - (Nov.01) 4.7L with 85K/3142hrs, Knolton Thunder Cylinder Heads & HO Cams by Sawcut, 4.56 R&P/DTT, SRT-10 Pod w/Dynojet Wideband Commander, 2-speed manual transfer case, Clifford Security System w/Auto Start/Auto Windows, RB1 CD/DVD/NAV Infinity Sound System w/30GB iPod, Offroad Package, 33" BFG T/A KO, Mopar Rear Wheel Liners, EBC Greenstuff Roadsport Brake Pads, K&N w/Airaid Jr Modular Intake Tube, BBK 70mm Throttle Body, AIR_RAM Jet Stream Scoop, PML Diff Cover, ASP Underdrive Crank Pulley, MSD 1.65 Alt Pulley, V8 Lincoln E-Fan, FK-60 E-Fan Controller w/relay, 180 Jet T-Stat, Flowmaster SI/DO Exhaust, Tire-2-Tire Chrome Tuber Step, Line of Fire LED Light Bar, Sylvania Ultra Silverstars, $1600 Oil Pickup Tube

Texas 1845: We the People of the Republic of Texas, acknowledging,
with gratitude, the grace and beneficence of God.


~ Waiting to fix my Ram! ~ 2-Years 65-Days and Counting! ~


View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Stangman
 
 Posted: 12-02-2012, 07:26 AM
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcelhannon View Post
OK, maybe the computer thinks you have the factory security system. That's should be what that LED light on the dash is all about. You can try removing the Ignition Off Draw (IOD) fuse for a few minutes. Its should be mounted in a fuse holder that on the side of the fuse box under the hood. That should reset the security system. If that doesn't help, I believe the battery has a short or is just plain bad.

Thanks for the input.
I have had that fuse out and I have also had the battery disconnected for at least 30 minutes when I replaced the ignition switch. Shouldn't that be enough to reset the computer?
The truck starts and drives and most things work when it is running (except the radio). As soon as I turn the key off then everything is powerless (no dome lights, nothing). Just a flashing (and clicking) red light.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Cuzbum
 
 Posted: 12-05-2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #8

Hey all. This is my first post. I have the exact thing happening to my truck. I've tried everything and anything. It looks like it could b the instrument cluster. I've been looking for a cheap one just in case its not it. please let me know if you find anything.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

dmcelhannon
 
 Posted: 12-05-2012, 12:25 PM
dmcelhannon's Avatar
Moderator David Mack
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 28,394
City: McAllen
State: TX
Status: Offline
View This User's Gallery
View Member's FaceBook Profile
Post #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangman View Post
Thanks for the input.
I have had that fuse out and I have also had the battery disconnected for at least 30 minutes when I replaced the ignition switch. Shouldn't that be enough to reset the computer?
The truck starts and drives and most things work when it is running (except the radio). As soon as I turn the key off then everything is powerless (no dome lights, nothing). Just a flashing (and clicking) red light.
Yes, the 30-minutes is more than enough time. I hate to say it but you may have take it to the dealer and let them hook it up to see what's going on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuzbum View Post
Hey all. This is my first post. I have the exact thing happening to my truck. I've tried everything and anything. It looks like it could b the instrument cluster. I've been looking for a cheap one just in case its not it. please let me know if you find anything.
I'd send a PM to one of the members that has helped me in the past - PCP.

That said, the only problem with changing out the cluster is the cost. When I first got my truck, I wanted the cluster with the numbers on gauges instead of the C-H, E-F, and the L-H letters. I was told I wound have to buy a new cluster and leave my truck at the dealer while they removed the old cluster. Once the old cluster was out, they would park the truck in the back and send both dash cluster into the manufacture. The manufacture would take the setting from the old cluster and then add them to the new one. I was also told, I couldn't drive the truck and it had to stay at the dealer the whole time. After the dealer receive the new cluster, install it, and then they made sure it worked correctly before letting me having the truck back. At no time would I have both clusters in hand. It would be the old or new one, period. And if you swap the gauge cluster, you could have problems with it because the mileage is stored on both the cluster and ECM/PCM. If they don't match, you could have problems as well. This is what I was told and a few members have been told the same thing.

__________________

If you start a thread, be responsible and post the final outcome.


2002 Ram 1500 SLT 4x4 QC ~ 02 Ram 45RFE to Jeep GC TCM 5-45RFE Upgrade - (Nov.01) 4.7L with 85K/3142hrs, Knolton Thunder Cylinder Heads & HO Cams by Sawcut, 4.56 R&P/DTT, SRT-10 Pod w/Dynojet Wideband Commander, 2-speed manual transfer case, Clifford Security System w/Auto Start/Auto Windows, RB1 CD/DVD/NAV Infinity Sound System w/30GB iPod, Offroad Package, 33" BFG T/A KO, Mopar Rear Wheel Liners, EBC Greenstuff Roadsport Brake Pads, K&N w/Airaid Jr Modular Intake Tube, BBK 70mm Throttle Body, AIR_RAM Jet Stream Scoop, PML Diff Cover, ASP Underdrive Crank Pulley, MSD 1.65 Alt Pulley, V8 Lincoln E-Fan, FK-60 E-Fan Controller w/relay, 180 Jet T-Stat, Flowmaster SI/DO Exhaust, Tire-2-Tire Chrome Tuber Step, Line of Fire LED Light Bar, Sylvania Ultra Silverstars, $1600 Oil Pickup Tube

Texas 1845: We the People of the Republic of Texas, acknowledging,
with gratitude, the grace and beneficence of God.


~ Waiting to fix my Ram! ~ 2-Years 65-Days and Counting! ~


View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Stangman
 
 Posted: 12-06-2012, 07:56 PM
Registered User
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #10

One more piece to this puzzle that I forgot to add. When I turn the key off, everything goes off except if I leave the headlights on. They will stay on and don't go out unless I turn the key back on, turn off the light switch, and then turn off the key.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

Cuzbum
 
  I got it. Let me know if you got yours. - Posted: 12-15-2012, 05:31 AM
Registered User
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
State: ON
Status: Offline
Post #11

I figured it out and it wasnt that hard after finding out what to look for. didnt cost me anything but time. My 2002 Dodge Ram has the 5.9 litre also has 423,800 km on her and still going strong. She deserved the time I spent on her. Let me know if you need help. Also if you turn truck off with brake pedal on will brake lights stay on for about 30 seconds.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 dodge ram 1500 help needed electrical and remote start krazybone 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk 6 11-14-2012 08:19 PM
2002 T&C engine stops and loses all electrical power skrigger Dodge Caravan General Talk 4 01-09-2012 01:18 PM
2002 Ram 1500 Instument Cluster w/PWR DOOR LOCKS samNavy Wanted - Dodge Truck Parts 0 07-07-2009 01:24 PM
2002 2.7 V-6 oil light flashing?? DAVE W 2G Dodge Stratus - General Talk 1 03-30-2009 12:45 PM
2002 Ram 1500. Looking for remote start/keyless entry. Suggestions? DrewInNJ 3G Dodge RAM - Interior/Exterior Talk 3 09-23-2005 02:20 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.





Privacy Statement